WANT PERSONALIZED SERVICE WITH THE BEST RATES? BOOK DIRECT. WE WILL TAKE CARE OF YOU EVERY STEP OF THE WAY.

FAVORITE HOTEL OF TRAVELERS

Read Reviews of Planters Inn - Top Ranked Luxury Hotel in Charleston

Guests describe Planters Inn as “an amazing and beautiful hotel” … “ideally located” … “within walking distance of the anything you will want to see in downtown Charleston” ... “where extremely attentive and friendly staff cater to every need” … “one of the best hotel experiences I have had in my life” … “A piece of heaven on earth!"


★★★★★

Planters Inn
“Planters Inn on North Market Street in Charleston is an amazing and beautiful hotel. Everything here is first class and goes above and beyond to provide a memorable experience. The staff here is excellent and makes sure that everything is taken care of and that everyone has what they need. I really like the location overlooking the Charleston Market and everything on the Peninsula is within easy walking distance. My expectations were exceeded in just about every way here with a few pleasant surprises included. The Planters Inn is everything that a hotel should be. This is one of my favorite hotels in Charleston, and I look forward to visiting here in the future, and I am confident that it will be a good stay.”
EvanGuthrie | TripAdvisor Review August 2019

★★★★★

Romantic Charleston
“We stayed in the Governor's Suite at the beautiful Planters Inn. The staff at the Planters Inn was warm, gracious and friendly. The hotel is ideally located in historic Charleston and it was such a treat to stay in this elegant, finely appointment suite. We had a romantic dinner at Peninsula Grill. Truly one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. The service was impeccable, the food incredible and we can't want to go back again.”
lisajG6970GV | TripAdvisor Review August 2019

★★★★★

My New Home in Charleston
“My family and I had the most wonderful stay. The staff at the Planter's Inn are so helpful nothing is ever a trouble. I appreciate the emails prior to our arrival asking if we need anything arranged or have questions. Our suite was perfect with plenty of room. And housekeeping there is amazing! We had dinner at the Peninsula Grill which was fantastic. Would highly recommend this property. Would not be disappointed.”
FamilyWhoTravels | TripAdvisor Review August 2019

★★★★★

Wonderful Place to Celebrate an Anniversary!!
“The price, location, and dedicated service was more than we expected!! We will definitely stay here again!”
Karey B | TripAdvisor Review August 2019

★★★★★

5/5
“Ultimate in Charleston luxury accommodations. Everything you need and want in an excellent location.”
Michael Lundeen | Google Review August 2019

★★★★★

2019 Vacation to Historic Charlestown, South Carolina
“Great location and very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay here. The Peninsula restaurant has great food and the 12 layer coconut cake is to die for. The sitting room in the front lobby makes you feel like you live there.”
bucstahoe | TripAdvisor Review August 2019

★★★★★

True Southern Hospitality
“This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in my life. My mother worked for the Leading Hotels of the World for the better part of my life, so high-end hotels are very normal. The service and staff at this hotel is the best I have ever experienced! The staff were extremely accommodating, helpful, and a true pleasure to deal with. We brought our 3-year-old and the hotel staff honestly could not have been better to help with our needs with having him there. It is located within walking distance of the anything you will want to see in downtown Charleston. Stay here and don't forget to eat at the Peninsula Grill!!!”
Vnay14 | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

Peaceful Tranquility in Historical Charleston, SC
“We spent 4 glorious nights at the Planters Inn that included a trip to Fort Sumter, Drayton Hall and various historical homes and sites in and around the area. Our 2 room suite was located on a the 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard, very, very quiet. Our king bed was plush and comfortable too with plenty of pillows to choose. The bathroom was huge and had the greatest shower I have experienced. The two large closets provided enough room for our stay and then some. More than enough hangers and very comfortable robes too. The sitting area had a nice couch and chair to either watch one of two TVs or plan the next day’s excursions. Continental Breakfast was included each morning in the Peninsula Grill or you could order off the menu. Very nice selection of local favorites and the Continental was ample to say the least. Parking was by valet and you had 24-hour access. There were afternoon refreshments served in the parlor along with local benne wafers and each evening there were sweets and coffee too. We highly recommend staying at the Planters Inn.”
BrianPGA | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

Beautiful Hotel
“This is a lovely, quiet hotel. Great for couples to stay at. The rooms are very nice. The courtyard is beautiful. The restaurant has wonderful and has very good service. Would definitely stay there again.”
lsparks77 | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

Heart of Charleston
“Great location, comfortable and clean rooms, quiet, large rooms, super friendly and professional staff. Really close to all the tours and easy walking to the market and King street shopping and restaurants.”
apy5v19y76 | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

Our 2nd Stay
“Our favorite hotel in downtown historic Charleston. In walking distance to many homes, sights and wonderful food. Rooms are large and decorated beautifully. Staff is the Best and very helpful. We highly recommend Planters Inn.”
Skip R | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

Southern Charm
“Planters Inn is a very warm and friendly hotel with the best location in historic Charleston. The staff is most gracious and accommodating in every way to make your visit perfect. From the time you arrive to when you leave, every part seems to be effortless taken care of...”
bradparris007 | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

You Won't Be Disappointed!
“We went for a quick weekend to Charleston and stayed at the Planters Inn. The staff, room, service, food, everything... was AMAZING. We had a gorgeous room with a nice balcony and were able to get a lovely dinner served in our room. We will definitely be back! Everything down to the smallest detail was handled by the staff. A+++!”
Jillian H | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

A True Gem
“Found this charming hotel while searching for a place to stay. Was only available for our first night, but so glad we got to experience it. We know where we will be staying when we come back. Staff could not be friendlier, and a huge bonus was access to a first rate local gym a few blocks away. Location is perfect for exploring everything C-town has to offer.”
David C | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

A Must Stay!
“Nothing short of fabulous. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown, we were able to walk everywhere. The outstanding front desk staff provided us with a map and tips on what we should see and do. Our room was ready well before check in, as we arrived on a morning flight. The staff was just lovely, from the front desk to housekeeping. Incredibly clean. Just a beautiful property. We loved sitting outside at night in the courtyard and sharing coffee outside our room, as there are small tables and rocking benches. You will not be disappointed!”
adrianamcgo | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

The Most Elegant Inn and Superb Staff Ever!
“Planters Inn is by far the most classy upscale Inn around. Beautiful rooms and a gorgeous courtyard. Every staff member is so nice and friendly. Impeccable service! A piece of heaven on earth! This will be our place to stay when we come back to Charleston.”
HealthyWomenMove | TripAdvisor Review July 2019

★★★★★

5/5
“This is one the nicest. Most pleasant hotel experiences of my life. I would stay there any day of the week. The raw oysters from the bar were some of the best of my life. Nightly turn down service (w macaroons!) is one of the many reasons this place is amazing!!!”
Kari Oatman Nicholson | Google Review July 2019

★★★★★

5/5
“Perfect location next to the market. Super friendly staff. They take care of everything. Very nicely appointed rooms. Would highly recommend.”
Geoff Darst | Google Review July 2019

★★★★★

5/5
“Loved sitting in the front sitting room drinking coffee listening to classical music. Very relaxing, calming environment. Excellent service. Great food!”
Patty Griffin | Google Review July 2019

★★★★★

Place To Be in Charleston
“Great room, service and location. As soon as we arrived, the staff made us feel welcome. Charleston is a great place to visit and the Planter's Inn is right in the middle of the best part. We had a great time.”
Walter C | TripAdvisor Review June 2019

★★★★★

When in Charleston, Stay at the Planters Inn
“of all the boutique hotels in Charleston you should stay at the Planters Inn when traveling there. extremely attentive and friendly staff cater to every need. great location great rooms great restaurant and bar.”
Maps67712378629 | TripAdvisor Review June 2019

★★★★★

Great Place to Stay!!
“Fantastic place to stay, the staff was great and friendly. This was our first impression of Charleston and one of the best. We would highly recommend the Planters Inn. We actually look forward to getting back the the hotel just to run into one of the staff, they were all so friendly and helpful.”
Wander50476692096 | TripAdvisor Review June 2019

★★★★★

Southern Charm at its Best!
“ If you are visiting Charleston, this is the place to stay - the location is right in the middle of town with easy access to everything - the rooms are quiet and comfortable, the service is top notch with staff willing to help in any way, and don't leave without trying the Peninsula Grill and the coconut cake! A true gem in historic Charleston!”
rexb957 | TripAdvisor Review June 2019

★★★★★

Beautiful Hotel, Perfect Location
“We have stayed in many hotels in the historic area of Charleston over the past 20 years. The Planters Inn is hands down our favorite. The rooms are lovely and well-appointed. Experienced, friendly and capable staff. The location is perfect for experiencing Charleston. Despite its central location, it’s very quiet with lovely secluded courtyard. Dinner at the Peninsula Grill is a must.”
Nancy W | TripAdvisor Review June 2019

★★★★★

5/5
“ One of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. Thank you so much.”
Magdalena J | Google Review June 2019

★★★★★

5th Stay at The Planter's Inn
“Best value in Charleston!! Regarding amenities, location, service, and staff!. Have recommended to multiple friends without being let down on any occasion. A true gem in historic Charleston. Cannot say enough of praises for the staff and facilities.”
Jorge B | TripAdvisor Review May 2019

★★★★★

Charleston's Best
“From arrival to leaving, this hotel sets the bar of a luxury property. Old world charm and elegance with all the modern amenities. Perfect location!”
coastaltraveler23451 | TripAdvisor Review May 2019

★★★★★

Beautiful Lodging in the Heart of Charleston
“Clean, comfortable, elegant room. We were returning customers, anxious to see recent improvements. We were not disappointed. The Peninsula Grill is a delight. That legendary coconut cake is a must! Efficient and friendly staff.”
Barbara H | TripAdvisor Review May 2019

★★★★★

Anniversary Trip
“My wife & I chose Charleston SC & the Planters Inn to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. Neither disappointed, Planters Inn is a superb Relais & Chateaux property. 5 Star facility with a warm and welcoming staff. Charleston is a gracious delight, with marvelous dining opportunities and great shopping.”
bplawsavga | TripAdvisor Review May 2019

★★★★★

Planters Inn
“Planters Inn is a Top Drawer hotel in Charleston, SC. Beautiful, spacious, and comfortable rooms, Staff is very friendly and helpful. Their restaurant, the Peninsula Grill is outstanding. Food and service is excellent.”
Jeffrey S | TripAdvisor Review May 2019

★★★★★

A Home Away From Home
“Warm, welcoming, friendly atmosphere with helpful, lovely staff. Perfect, central location. A highlight of the hotel was the lounge room which offered drinks (tea, coffee, and lemonade) and snacks (fruit, cookies, delicious cheese crisps) all day. Also enjoyed the outside area with chairs and tables to sit in the evening or late afternoon.”
judy_g777 | TripAdvisor Review April 2019

★★★★★

Perfect Wedding Anniversary!
“We stayed here our wedding night and returned more than 10 years later to the same elegant hotel and excellent service! The Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill never disappoint. The bed was so comfortable, and the food is amazing - an experience that will always be cherished.”
Resort09850794000 | TripAdvisor Review April 2019

★★★★★

Best Place to Stay
“This hotel is gorgeous, and the staff is wonderful. We will be staying this weekend, and I will only stay here when visiting Charleston. Lots of news swanky hotel in Charleston now but if you want pure class and the old south, this is it. Can’t beat the courtyard for late night drinks and morning breakfast.”
KnoxvilleFord | TripAdvisor Review April 2019

★★★★★

Great All The Way!
"Fantastic stay with great personable staff that was ready to help at every step of the way. The location of the hotel is unbeatable - you can walk everywhere. The restaurant was fantastic, ended up canceling another reservation to dine a second night there."
Phil | TripAdvisor Review April 2019

★★★★★

Birthday Trip
"We just got back from a wonderful trip to Charleston SC. We stayed at the Planters Inn. AWESOME location and wonderful property. Marcus along with the entire staff took great Care of all of us (6 including rented bikes). We will be back!"
Melissa L | TripAdvisor Review April 2019

★★★★★

5/5
“Exceptionally courteous staff and wonderful accommodations. The small touches (such as turndown service with macaroons) and the clean, well furnished rooms made for a great stay. Not to mention a great location.”
Clay Samford | Google Review April 2019

★★★★★

5/5
“Planters Inn is where you want to stay in Charleston! The rooms are beautiful, the garden path to get to your room is so lush and pretty. The staff is southern hospitality at its best... Marcus greets you like you have known him forever. His smile starts your day off right. Hard not to want to eat in the Pennisula Grill every night and if you don’t... going for the coconut cake every night is hard to resist!! My only complaint is you can’t live at the Planters Inn. Can’t wait to return. Heaven on earth!!”
Sarah Elmes | Google Review March 2019


★★★★★

Planters Inn has earned Four Diamonds every year since 1995 and remains the sole Relais & Châteaux luxury hotel located in South Carolina.

Winner of Travel + Leisure magazine's #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel Award.

★★★★★

Your Charleston getaway awaits.

RESERVE YOUR STAY

When you book with us directly, you receive the best rates for your travel dates. Our reservations are made by on-site at Planters Inn Charleston by knowledgeable staff who will happily assist you in selecting a room that suits your style and needs.