Planters Inn History
Planters Inn History
THE HEART AND SOUL OF HISTORIC CHARLESTON
Statesman Charles Cotesworth Pinckney cedes land to the City of Charleston with the stipulation that it must always be used as a municipal market. A European-style open-air produce fair is established for Lowcountry farmers, fisherman, and cattleman. For the first time in Charles Towne’s then 108-year history, citizens are able to stock larders with a visit to one place: Centre Market.
1804 – 1830s
A series of four sprawling sheds are erected to give vendors shelter from the elements. Inside the sheds, stands and stalls rent for $.02 to $1.33 per day. Over the years, the Centre Market sheds survive fires, earthquakes, hurricanes, and cannonball bombardment.1841
Architect Edward Brickwell White designs the Greek Revival Market Hall that stands at the head of North and South Market Streets. Today, the Doric-columned Market Hall is designated as a National Historic Landmark.1844
A large cotton warehouse is erected on the corner of North Market and Meeting Streets, adjacent to the new Market Hall.1901
The cotton warehouse is now a dry goods emporium with a fanciful inventory that includes harmonicas, sailor caps, whalebone petticoats, paper doilies, and more.
The Holliday Companies/Incorporated purchases 112 North Market Street and embarks on a multi-million dollar restoration and renovation with the sole goal of creating the finest historic hotel in the city.
Upon completion of construction, Charleston Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Jr. writes, “I am very pleased you have been able to so quickly renovate the Planters Inn... you have reestablished the project’s reputation as one of the finest inns in Charleston... Again, congratulations. You are part of what makes Charleston a truly alluring and unique place.”
The Holliday Companies/Incorporated begins a sweeping restoration of Charleston’s historic City Market area. Planters Inn undergoes a $4 million expansion, which creates 21 additional guest rooms, enhances the captivating courtyard, and adds a ballroom to the historic property. An abandoned warehouse at the corner of Hayne and Church Streets—former location of the legendary Garden & Gun nightclub—is carefully renovated and transformed into the wildly popular Hank’s Seafood Restaurant. A $7 million, 30-room expansion that replaced 19th century brick warehouses destroyed during Hurricane Hugo wins The Preservation Society of Charleston’s Carolopolis Award for “responsible stewardship of Charleston’s historic architecture which demonstrate a high quality of work.”
With the major thrust of the City Market neighborhood’s revitalization complete, the Holliday Companies/Incorporated holdings include 275 hotel rooms, four restaurants, 15,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, 30,000 square feet of retail space, and 155 on-site parking spots.1997
Peninsula Grill opens and is named one of America’s Best New Restaurants by Esquire.1999
Planters Inn is invited to join Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive French based collection of charming hotels and gourmet restaurants in 55 countries.2011
The three-year, $5.5 million restoration and renovation of the City Market is completed. The pivotal project, spearheaded by a principal of the Holliday Companies/Incorporated, earns praise from Preservation magazine and The New York Times. The extensive and well-executed City Market renovation receives the Carolopolis Award from the Preservation Society of Charleston, the Whitelaw Award from the Historic Charleston Foundation, and the Phoenix Award from the Society of American Travel Writers.
To learn more about the City Market’s artists and vendors, visit www.thecharlestoncitymarket.com.